Review: Combative

20894361

Title: Combative

Author: Jay McLean

Genre: New Adult Romance

Heat-o-meter: 2 (only 1 sex scene)

1

We all play victims to our pasts; to the choices we make and the lives we create.
They define who we are.
And sometimes if we’re lucky enough, the past stays where it belongs: in the past.
I’m not one of the lucky ones.
I never have been.
Because now the past is knocking on my door, offering deals I have no choice but to take… deals that will help bring justice—not just for me, but for my brothers.

The problem?
The deal is a ticking time bomb.
One I didn’t know existed.

Tick.
Tock.

2

Ok, let me say that the synopsis above does NOT do this book justice. Its about so much more! I loved Ky as a hero. He has baggage but he isn’t your typical alpha male. He is an amazing person for Madison. Also, I loved the mystery surrounding Madison. You can spend the entire book guessing what YOU think happened to her but you won’t quite get it. I don’t typically like cliffhangers but in this case I’m thrilled-it means more time with Ky and Madison!

I also enjoyed that this book was ‘sort of’ dual POV. You only get tiny glimpses into Madison’s head-just enough to get to know her a tiny bit, but not enough to reveal anything. Again, the mystery in this book builds slowly and it totally works.

3

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

7

unnamed-2

5

Goodreads | Amazon

Leave a Reply

